346xp

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

willie_up

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am relatively new to the saw market but from what I've read the Husky 346xp sounds like the one I want. I will mainly be using it for cutting firewood, both for home use and camping.

The price at Alamia is $355 but I may spend a little extra and get it locally... I like the fact that I can sent it to a saw tuner and get it hopped up. Is it worth the extra $$ to get it done from the start?

Some posts mention this saw isn't real good for novices? Why?

Hi Willie, the 346 is a very good choice as is the 357, which I prefer. Both saws are highly tunable and respond well. Dennis and Dan Henry have done lots of them for us on this site. Muffler work is enough to get the saw up and talking if you use LG or RS 3/8 pitch. Get a 15" bar for either saw if possible, more power, less wear, plus it shows you dont subcribe to little saw, big bar ethic, which is really a Puss N' Boots mentality.
This is just an opinion from an Eastern Stubble Jumper and not to be construed as that of a West Coast Woodtick.
Clearwater Scott H20 made mention of a 346 XPG Sno Pro, which is what I wish I had. My favourite all around saw is really the 357 XPG by Dennis ,and why wouldnt it be? Keep the chain sharp or you end up cutting "Summer Wood", some are this long, some are that long.
Martha Summers

Is the only difference between the 346XP and 346 XPG Sno Pro the heated handle?

Aslo how do I get in touch with Dennis?

I am waiting for a response from dozerdan on his saws.

Is having a saw tuned up worth the extra $$$$ ????? well...... YES!!!

willie_up
Send me another email,I must have deleted yours when I was getting rid of some spam mail.
I can sell you a new 346XP with 16" bar and chain for 340. and I have them in stock.
200. for the PP process plus 20. shipping.
Later
Dan

willie_up,