357XP seized and crank rotation feels 'rough'

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J P

Reaction score
First, I'm not a saw mechanic and this is the first time I've attempted this much work on one. Any help and advise much appreciated. Just trying to avoid having to buy a new saw. I'm 1/8th into a 15 acre project that I was hoping to get mostly done this spring.

My saw had what I thought was a lean seizure. I was getting near the end of my cutting for the day and noticed the saw seemed to be running lean-like. Then it had a couple brief episodes of really high revs so I quit sawing for the day. Next day, thinking I'd try to find the problem I found it had seized. I put oil in the cylinder and waited a while but I couldn't get the flywheel to turn with a wrench so I tapped on the pawl bolt heads with a block of wood and it freed up. Compression tested 78psi. Pressure test seemed to indicate a leak at the intake which seemed to make sense. I now have the cylinder off and to my untrained inexperienced eye the cylinder and the piston really don't look too bad other than the ring seems stuck in the groove.

Now my bigger concern is that when I rotate the crankshaft it doesn't turn smoothly. It should shouldn't it? I don't feel any slop but it has a lumpy feel about every 1/4" of rotation of the flywheel and I'm guessing that's from a bad crank end bearing. Is there anything else that would cause it to feel that way? Could I have boogered a bearing by tapping on the pawl bolts? Am I looking at having to work on the bottom end of this thing too? That is a daunting thought. Unfortunately I didn't check the crank seals when I pressure tested. Should I put the cylinder back on and test again or is it pooched anyway?