361 bar length

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

361kid

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I run a 20in bar on my 361 right now, but plan on buying a 24in for the bigger stuff. My question is will a stock 361 run a 24 with no problems? Any help would be greatly appreciated:)

This topic is one of the more popular ones. It has been covered before, many times. Come on, already, search!

(Yes, but it is not an ideal combination - kinda like running a 20" on a 260. It is particularly bad in hardwoods, but arguably less bad in softwoods. It all depends on what you consider to be fast enough. Regardless, a muffler mod helps.)

I'd love to use the search function...only sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't:mad: I just ordered a load of logs that are 24in or bigger. Now, I'm no expert at judging the diameter of a log but, will the 20in be able to handle some of the larger stuff? I've seen the truckloads and some of the logs are 3-5ft in diameter!!! (For me that's big) So should I get the 24 or just stick to the 20?

In hardwood, eh, it'd be pushing it. But for bucking firewood, you've got the luxery of time and the ability to cut slowly. I use a 24" on my 361 all the time, but that's softwood. I'd wait and see how large the logs truely are. No sense in buying a 24" set up, only to find you've got logs 50" and it's still too small. If they're that big, you'd be able to block them with your 20" bar anyway.

Jeff

It will easily run a 24 inch bar... Try full skip if it bogs in hardwood, but out here, no problems with 28 either..

361kid said:
I'd love to use the search function...only sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't:mad:

I can believe that. Technology does have a way of misbehaving...

361kid said: