371\2171 rebuild

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chris_In_VT

Brrraaaaap!
Reaction score
Gonna be a long post, sorry guys...
tl;dr version- I put new bearings in a 372 series saw and now the crank is hard to turn. Yes I relieved the tension on the crank during install.

Alright, so I had a bunch of parts laying around, including a 371xp with the tank mount broken off the clutch side case, and a 2171 with the flywheel side smashed up. What to do about that?

Make a Husqared! Or Jonskavarna? I like Husqared better....
371xp flywheel case half, 2171 clutch side case.

Anyways, this is my first attempt at a full rebuild (case split, new bearings, etc.) I've done plenty of top end rebuilds, carb kits, muffler mods, etc. but this is my first venture into crank bearings.

I got the cases split just fine. Heat gun and rubber mallet on the crank. Don't have a proper splitter tool.
Bearings out, cases cleaned up.
Did some research on here, decided to install the bearings in the case first as opposed to crank first, and ended up heating the case halves in the oven. The bearings dropped right in, easy as pie.

Now, crank into the case\bearings. I used the case bolts to pull the halves together. Worked just fine.
Things are going much better than I expected for my first shot at this.
Case halves together, bolts snugged down, and the crank is hard to turn.
YES I hit both ends of the crank as I was pulling the halves together to relieve tension (rubber mallet)
I loosened the case bolts, and the crank turned smooth and easy. Tighten them up, hard to turn. Tried giving it a few more whacks, didn't help.
Hmm...

Pulled a smart move (NOT!) :mad: and went ahead to install the crank seals. After I put the pto side seal in, the crank is even harder to turn.