550xp first tank video

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

komatsuvarna

Arboristsite MVP
Reaction score
Got my 550 on Thursday, but didn't get to run it more than 2 minutes. Honestly, first impressions wasn't that great to me.... I believe a box stock 346 would put a hurting on it. I noticed the muffler was severely restrictive on these IMO. It has a big baffle in the muffler and then a pipe that goes to the outlet about 3/8'' ID x about 2'' long. I studied it for a bit, then gutted the muffler and cut the pipe off :msp_w00t:. I opened the outlet up to the max keeping the hole under the deflector......probably 60-70% of the exhaust port just guessing. So the muffler is open now. Put the spark screen back in and gave her a go. WOW, It was like changing saws!!

Here she be with about 5 minutes total run time on it. Its wearing a 16'' 3/8s LGX. The chain is a little aggressive for a 50cc saw, but it's all I had that was sharp. IN a couple of the cuts I was pushing some trying the see how far it would bog down and still pull. A couple of cuts were just self feeding. Anyways, It ain't much, but here's the vid. Sorry bout the crappy cell video, it usually turns out better than that!

[video=youtube;Brzw5Pq0h18]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Brzw5Pq0h18&feature=player_detailpage[/video]

Last edited:
So B-rad, How'd ya do that neat muffler mod on PTjeeps 261 and make it look so nice? I believe thats about my only option for a dual port on this style muffler,, unless I put a pipe in it because of the louvers all over the muffler. I like the shark gill look too :).

That saw is a little screamer. After the muffler mod how would you compare it to a 346xp? New saw rep coming!