A Cord of wood?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nickblaze466

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've been trying to think up a way to measure a cord of wood out without actually going through and stacking it up, just to throw it in my truck and haul it somewhere. I'm not very good at guessing on the size of the pile sitting on the ground. people have told me to build frames that hold roughly a cord and just fill the box - but i have nothing big enough to pick it up.

any ideas?

or is this just one of those things you have to do?

Use the search feature here. There have been MANY threads abotu this already!

i did. said unable to locate and then window blanks out. having network trouble, didn't know if it was associated with that or not?

We just delivered slightly under two cords yesterday. We used a 3/4 ton truck without side boards, loaded it halfway up the cab and when stacked comes out to about 8 tenths of a cord. We have done this for years and the results are always close to the same. If you want to fashion some sideboards you can haul a cord without a problem as long as the truck can take it.

If you're transporting splits, rounds or 4' lenghts and are willing to stack somewhat neatly in your truck, you can guestimate fairly easily.

For example, my Ranger has a 6' bed, about 3' wide. I stack about 2' in height if I'm paying for a truckload and want to get the absolute most for my money (usually tree tops, etc that I get for $5-$10 per load.) This comes to just a little over a 1/4 cord. I just keep track of the number of transports and do the simple math.

Useful Web site posted on another thread that I find helpful:

http://www.state.me.us/ag/firewood.html

3 scoops of loose wood pretty much fills the back of my 1 ton dually flatbed with 2 foot sides, both of which stack out pretty close to a cord of wood.