Almost got crushed by my flipline

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chad556

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I haven't been doing this kind of work for a long time, just a few months now actually. As a beginner, I have to say that many of the stories and news articles that I have read in this forum have probably kept me alive and have certainly impacted the way I look at safety. That said I feel like I owe it to the community here to give back by telling my story (as embarrassing and stupid as it may be).

CIMG0227.jpg

It started with two red oak trees that needed to be climbed. I installed my climbing line in one and spur climbed up the other one (the one on the left in the picture) I made my way to the first branch and walked out about halfway on it. The angle on the photo is bad but I marked where the cut was in red. I swung my flipline around the branch, dug my gaffs in, got comfortable, and started up my saw. I started out with an undercut wedge and then deftly fliped my bar to the other side of the branch and started my back cut. What once was tricky for me was finally starting to come naturally, or so i thought.

The piece I was cutting was big, 500 pounds maybe 25' long by about 8"-10" diameter where i was making my cut. One guy couldn't drag it on his own, lets put it that way. I was tired, it was winding on down to the end of the day and somehow I misjudged where to make the back cut and made it about 4" higher than i needed. Sure enough I heard the thing cracking and starting to move, I prepared myself for the recoil in the branch as all that weight separated and all of the sudden... BAM. I was slammed right into the branch by my lanyard, my whole lower half being squeezed hard and my leg, still gaffed into the tree painfully hyper extended. All my breath was squeezed out of me and it was impossible to inhale.