Another large removal for your veiwing pleasure

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbtree

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Great Stuff Roger,,,,

As usual!!!!!!!!:popcorn: :popcorn: :popcorn: :givebeer: did ya make any salvage on the Lumber with chips???

Last edited:
Nice work RB, those 120 hydro's are sweet ain't they!

Two days??? I assume it was just one day of crane, right?

jomoco

Question How do you keep saw from binding

Great work RB. :)

I've never used a crane before .... how do you keep the saw from binding during the cut? Is it because the crane is applying so much upward force that the cut can't close?

I've never used a crane before .... how do you keep the saw from binding during the cut? Is it because the crane is applying so much upward force that the cut can't close?

I don't know about how RB likes to do it, but I like to start my cut on the pinch side, usually the side facing the crane, and finish on the lift side, the side where the choker completes it's circle and runs up to the hook.

Crane operators almost invariably prefer to bring the load toward them, particularly heavy loads anywhere near their limit.

Circumstance dictates technique.

jomoco

Crane operators almost invariably prefer to bring the load toward them, particularly heavy loads anywhere near their limit.

Some of the operators will like to put a lot of force on the load, but that is not a god thing to do.

I've not done as many crane jobs as these guys, but I like to have them just tighten up the cable to start then as I make the back cut have tension brought in to get it near the estimated load weight.

Only when the load separates should there be any more force then nessesary.