Another Leaner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Airecon

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Im wanting to cut this tree, but Im a little afraid of it- Im not that experienced with a saw. Its about 24" down near the fork. I've got a Stihl 028 with a 18" bar. Anybody know what kind of tree it is- I think its some kind of Elm. I may just leave it if its Elm. I've read too many horror stories about leaners here at the forums. I know it would be nothing to some of you guys, but Im a bit of a wimp.

Now that is a leaner! The danger when cutting it is getting your saw trapped if you attempt an undercut. Don't even try unless you have a spare saw handy.

Anohter danger is a barber chair when you do the top cut. I would chain it before doing any cutting at all.

How to proceed? I'll let the experts give that advice.

Harry K

I would be looking at it as...

What will happen if I cut this? What will happen if I cut that?

What will it fall on and then what will happen? Will it hit another tree causing that tree or branch to fly back where I am standing?

What is above where I am cutting? Are there dead limbs which could fall on my head?

Are other trees supporting this branch? Should I remove these first? Or if I remove the supporting trees, will the whole works topple over on me?

Is there a tree under this large branch which will keep it from falling to the ground? Should I remove that tree first? What will happen if I leave that tree there and cut the main branch?

Can I cut a little off of this large branch at a time? Do it in sections? Is the only safe way to do this with a bucket truck? Do it one small section at a time?