Arborwear or not

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe’Bronco

Reaction score
So I’m fairly new to the chainsaw world. Been in construction my whole life. PPE and safety have always #1…. Except when it came to using a chainsaw. I think I’ve put on a pair of chaps once, just a cheap Home Depot pair. I’ve logged about 100 or so hours behind a saw. Looking through the treads here screams that I’ve been an idiot the entire time. Some of these injuries are no joke. More recently I’ve been getting behind the chain, clearing some property that has been neglected. I have about 80 acres of HEAVY Forrest that we are thinning. If I have an “incident” I’m at least an hour from anyone. I gotta avoid getting my face/leg posted here or I may not walk away.

I’ve got a work connection to Arborwear and I get 30% off. The chaps they have look like all the others I see.

my big questions are -
1. Are they reputable?
2. Are arborist pants BETTER than chaps? Or the same?
3. What’s the best for a non-daily worn pair

Pants if you are cutting for a long period of time. Chaps if they are going to be on and off during the day (only using the saw for short stretches...).