Bandsaw Mill

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

L Wagner

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello!

I just found this site, registered and am making my first post. I have been a woodworker for a number of years now and recently became interested in making lumber out of logs. So I made the next move and went out and bought a bandsaw mill. The unit is on a trailer and can handle up to a 21" Diameter by 12 ft. long log. I have milled about 5-600 BF of ash, oak, maple and walnut so far and have gone through a few blades.(mostly from my own carelessness or imbedded steel) I will be looking forward to learning more about my new found hobby from you experts out there.

Thanks for being here!

Larry:) :) :)

Welcome to the forum Larry, and welcome fellow woodworker who wants to get lumber for the woodshop the "easy" way, as I too started milling lumber for that very reason. What kind of woodworking do you do, what do you make? What kind of bandmill did you get? Got any pics of it? I got myself a cheapo $90 metal detector, the kind used for coins etc, and it has paid for itself many times over finding tramp metal in logs before I toasted a bandsaw blade in my Ripsaw, or ripped into it with my alaskan mill. You might want to invest in one of those.

Thanks for the welcome from everyone.

My sawmill is from a small shop in mid northern Arkansas. The brand name is Mr. Sawmill. After month's of searching I found it to be the best bang for my buck. So far I'm enjoying this too much! As a woodworker I like being able to cut and prepare just the right piece for the job at hand. As for woodworking, I like several areas, including making small boxes(turned and dovetail type), small cabinets, some furniture, etc. I'm really looking forward to learning from everyone.

Thanks again for the welcome!