Beating wedges vs. Chainsaw splitting - tough rounds???

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moddoo

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am still pretty new to the firewood game.
I do have about 15+ cords under my belt though.

I tried a wedge and sledge on some knotty stuff one day, and it sucked and seems dangerous.

My routine has become:
split everything I can with the splitting axe
the rounds that are too tough get thrown aside
then I rip them down the middle with the saw when I'm done, and they can usually be split from that point with the axe.

Any reason some people want to beat the crap out of a wedge?

Granted it doesn't make a mess like the saw does.

Last edited:
...I tried a wedge and sledge on some knotty stuff one day, and it sucked and seems dangerous...

I guess danger's a relative term, but I'm not sure I'd say hitting a wedge is more dangerous than running a chainsaw. If I run into something that I can't split with my monster maul, then I don't hesitate to drive wedges. Never seemed all that bad to me (of course swinging the 10 lb sledge doesn't seem like much after the 15 lb monster maul).

Though I do have to say I have at times resorted to chainsaw use, but there's almost nothing I can't get through with my wedges.

My routine has become:
split everything I can with the splitting axe
the rounds that are too tough get thrown aside
then I rip them down the middle with the saw when I'm done, and they can usually be split from that point with the axe.

Any reason some people want to beat the crap out of a wedge?

Granted it doesn't make a mess like the saw does.
Good plan,I do the same myself.I've got an old Geardrive Mac 650 that will gooble it's way though any thing.Fact of the matter is,I used it last week to tame down some 30" knotty pin oak rounds that had more knots than Carter has little pills,works for me.