Building a splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brad Burnette

Muzzy17is
Reaction score
I am fixing to start a log splitter build. I got me a splitter at the scrap yard. It is a homemade one but it is a beast!. It's gonna need everything ie motor, ram, pump, valve etc. It's set up now to run off a tractor but the ram looks shot. I'm getting it for $90.00, the main frame is worth that. It's rusty but has lot's of potential. I'm a newbie to hydraulics and was wondering how to tell the psi on a cylinder. My father in law has a couple of cylinders but I'm gonna have to figure out what size they are. Gonna take my time and piece this together right. I saw this post below on craigslist and was wondering if I can get it cheap the valve controls of one of these loaders could be used as a multi station control pad. Also would the cylinders or any other parts be worth fooling with. I'm planning on putting a lift on this splitter. Any help would be appreciated. Will be posting pics as I go. Advice will be appreciated.

https://spacecoast.craigslist.org/hvo/d/fiat-allis-345-and-hough-h60/6417937120.html

Usually you look for any stickers or markings on the cylinders and find at least a mfg that made them. Generally you should be able to walk into any hydraulic shop and have them tested or evaluated. Based on the hardware and etc they are going to get a pretty good idea of the pressure rating. Unless they look different than anything you've seen they are likely going to know what you've got and be able to find parts to rebuild. I'd probably suggest having the old cylinder rebuilt as it would save time setting something else up in its place as it may have different ends than your dad's cylinders.