Burning pine

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaleel Johanson

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been burning pine in my woodstove for many years now, and despite all of the condemnation from my friends and neighbors about the woes of creosote buildup, I've found that it's really no worse than other woods? Is creosote buildup in my chimney just an old wive's tale? TIA

Jaleel

Welcome to the Arborist site. How often do you clean your chimney? Creosote build up is not a wives tale. Pine has more creosote than other woods but I burn it too.

I haven't cleaned the chimney in the last 2 years, and I burn every day in the winter months. Is this dangerous?

Jaleel

You need to check your chimney often. With that said, when I used the woodstov( owb now) I burned whatever was available, including pine. I have a metalbestos chimney . There is NEVER any buildup in it. Or was I should say. Now the stds chimney that was in the basement, that I cleaned several times a season.

I always burned pine, without a 2nd thought.

yes dangerous. You should inspect the chimney once a month and clean when necessary but once a year is what most people do. I knew there were issues with the stove/chimney in the house we bought this past summer. I could tell it was bad enough that a new chimney would be warranted. We replaced both the stove and chimney. when I looked at the creosote build-up in the old chimney I couldn't believe it - 1.5 inches of build up! The prior tenants (renters) burned whatever junk wood they had on hand, including construction scraps, the catalytic combustor was shot, and the chimney had air leaks. They are very lucky they didn't have a chimney fire.

StonyKill

When you say metalbestos pipe are you talking about what we acall triple wall pipe?

TOM