Chain brake?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tiredone

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Working on my PM-340 McCulloh, I found a steel band that wraps around the clutch, like a brake band. I've used electric saws and rentals in the past but never had a brake that I knew of. Could folks explain how this is used while cutting and trimming? I gather it activates through the guard handle on the front, but as a noob, I have no idea of proper operation. I'd like to understand safe operation of the saw. I friend cut his hand open with an electric saw when he cut beneath a branch with the top of the bar which caused the saw to jump. He blamed it on underpowered equipment. I blamed it on misuse. If there is a safety FAQ other than common sense, send me the right direction.

Consult your operators manual for an explanation, and possibly even a pictoral view of how the brake works. Basically, if the saw kicks back, your leading (left hand) will contact the chain brake handle and activate the brake. Pull the handle back towards you to reset it. Adjust the band so when activated, the saw can't spin the chain from idle when the throttle is applied.

Thanks! I don't have a manual since I picked up this very old saw used. Today I put in a new clutch and cleaned the oily sawdust out of the brake. The handle you describe has a detented operation. So as you say, if it goes forward, it toggles and the chain stops. Thanks for your explanation. I have the saw in nice condition now.

the brake is also supposed to engage from the Inertia of a kickback if your hand cant (such as when making a back cut wile felling)

Edit: fixed it :rolleyes:

Last edited:
What the heck was that word lol, inursua? Inertia? Gah, doesn't anyone around her use 'Spellcheck' ? any more than less :ices_rofl: discomjbobulatshuns. :(

:bang:

:rockn: :rockn: :rockn: serge