Chain sharpening pro tips.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SamT1

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Guys I’ve been sharpening my chains for near 20 years on a stihl sharpener. I was never taught to run it though. Now and then I get a dud that isn’t a good cutter or one that dulls fast.

I get 3/4 cord of hard dry and dirty mesquite on a good chain sharpening. Maybe a whole cord on a new one. But now and then I only get 1/4. I try to keep my depth gauges cut down, but can’t find my tool to check them so I just wing it. I like them cutting deep since I run big saws with little bars. But the stretch is pretty dang bad. A chain starts life at 66 links for me and probably dies with 63.

I sharpen on 25* pretty much no matter what. I’ve tried 20 and like it too.

What’s some pro tips? Rapid cut is #1 for me, life of sharpen is #2, life of the whole chain is no concern, kick back is no problem.

Bar life tips welcome too! I eat them up. We pull lots of dirt and the bar oils always smoking in big dry mesquites. I’ve seen those tools for surfacing the rails, but my issues always how wide they get. I’ve thought about trying some wider chains, but the armor tips don’t wear out so I don’t think they will fit.

I run a mix of stuff. Mostly chisel chains.
Oregon 72 chisel mostly
Some Carlton A1 semi chisel
I just found a zip lock with several gently used stihl RS chains I sharpened up to try.

A friend with a small shop ordered me a 25’ roll of silver streak chisel chain to try. It is cheap cheap.