chain size consolidation

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ftm

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Gots me a Stihl 028wb with 20"bar, .325" spur sprocket and a Stihl 360 with 18" bar, 3/8" rim sprocket. What I am thinking is it would be nice to be able to only have one width of chain that I could run on both saws. Also, wouldn't it make more sense to run a smaller bar on the 028 and a larger on the 360 if I went same width?
I don't know which way to go with the chains. At the moment I have 3 18" 3/8" chains. The 028 I believe would need a $50 rim sprocket kit to run the 3/8"(apparently that size is not offered in a spur) while the 360 would only need a rim sprocket to run .325". Either way I would also need a bar.
Best way to go?
I am still a newb to this so straighten my ignorant ass out.

Gots me a Stihl 028wb with 20"bar, .325" spur sprocket and a Stihl 360 with 18" bar, 3/8" rim sprocket. What I am thinking is it would be nice to be able to only have one width of chain that I could run on both saws. Also, wouldn't it make more sense to run a smaller bar on the 028 and a larger on the 360 if I went same width?
I don't know which way to go with the chains. At the moment I have 3 18" 3/8" chains. The 028 I believe would need a $50 rim sprocket kit to run the 3/8"(apparently that size is not offered in a spur) while the 360 would only need a rim sprocket to run .325". Either way I would also need a bar.
Best way to go?
I am still a newb to this so straighten my ignorant ass out.
you've only listed pitch there - width is normally called gauge (0.050, 0.058 or 0.063), and hopefully they're both the same...