Chaps

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tnichols

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm looking at buying some chaps. I've never owned or worn any, and was wondering what you fella's are using. I've looked at both Labonville and Elvex.

I am still using a set I bought from Bailey's in 1988. Back then the choices were not as great as today. On the chainsaw forum the Labonville's are very highly spoken of but I have no experience with them.

Last edited:
I have a few pairs of the Stihl ones you can pick up at the dealer. After an accident with a saw in 1991 I have been wearing them. I see tons of people skip this item and I wish I could tell them what my doctor bill cost..it would easily have funded a new saw and then some. I didnt have health insurance back then.

I am pleased with the Stihl ones. They are not the full coverage style and I keep them at the farm so anyone that needs to use one of the saws has access to chaps also. I also keep a personal pair in my truck tool box adjusted for me personally.

I have also found another use for them..the orange ones make for great brush pants in the woods nothing gets through them and they are very visible!

I tell ya I have 2 pair. I have 2 sets of Husqvarna. Both are Pro Forest Logger Wrap Chaps. One pair is 1,000 denier. The other is 600.
I use the 1,000 denier in winter or where there is going to be a lot of briars and ruff stuff. The 600 denier I like using in the summer time. Actually the 600 denier I have are green and are Jonsered's. Now, the pro forest logger wrap chaps are the best that Husqvarna/Jonsered offer. I would suggest you go with the pro forest. I like them an awful lot. That is if you go with Husqvarna Jonsered. I hear the Labonville chaps are really nice as well.