Cheapie Poulan Pro 220 Repair ( Maybe )

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DFK

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Here the Story:
Some time back one of my coworkers heard me say that I wanted to learn to repair Chainsaws.
He said I got just what you need.
A few days later he showed with a Poulan Pro 220.
Was hoping for a Stihl MS460... But hay it was free.:)

So here goes.. This is my first attempt at repairing a Chainsaw.

David

Well I hope you have fun. I did, and I think that model was one of my first to repair. Its pretty easy. Step one is just inspection. Pull the top cover, clutch cover, recoil, and muffler. Look it over and look for broken switch wires or broken fuel lines. Look in the exhaust port, piston should look new and smooth. Then you can start replacing fuel parts and rebuild the carb.

Here is a Pix of what I was given.
Poulan Pro 220 Power Head.
16" Quick Adjust Bar.
2- Lightly used (but dull) chains
Wrench
Owners Manuel (well soaked with bar oil)
and a black Storage Case.

David

Attachments

• 3-10-2017 021.JPG
    3-10-2017 021.JPG
    240.7 KB · Views: 39
That was my first one also, a freebee roadside. Cut well for a few years, and still is, i gave it to my buddy.

-•------------------------------------------------------------

Just a home owner that likes the older better made machines

Craftsman 3.7 x2
Husqvarna 36

A friend of mine just recently gave me almost the exact same thing. Mine it a PP260. Had it running in about 15 minutes. The carb was tinkered with by someone that shouldn't own tools. So far out of whack it would flood right away and not start. Runs good now. Have yet to put it to some wood though.

OK, Here is a bit more.
Took the Fuel cap off and what fell out is in photo #1
Those little "bits" on the fuel filter are what is left of the fuel line. ( GeorgiaVol... are you Psychic :) )