Choosing Rope For Climbing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marky Mark

Hell's Kitchen Trapper
Reaction score
I purchased a "Macrograb W/Bolt/Scrw Lnk 12Mm" assender, since I am new to tree climbing I wanted to know what size rope would someone reccomned to use this with this unit. I would like to use 5/8ths Rope, I do not climb professionally nor do I want to start i went to school and have always wanted to do climb and rig trees, now I can afford to buy the gear but this rope thing for me anyway is hard to pick out.

If some one could also tell me the lowest prices on the web for Rope I would love for that to be posted also. Thank You

If you bought a 12mm ascender, you will need 12mm (or 1/2") rope. Virtually all tree climbing rope is 1/2". Check out the climbing ropes available at Sherrill (this web site's main sponsor).
Everything available through Sherrill is also available at any Vermeer dealership. I'd probably hit the nearest dealer so I could see and feel the different ropes. Also, most dealers will only stock the most popular ropes so you can benefit from other's experience in that regard.

The other benefit of going to Vermeer is that you might run into some tree guys and you can get some free advice.
(I use 'Safety Blue' for my lifeline. Excellent feel, 7,700 lbs rating, and decent price.)

I've never used ascenders, but I can tell you that the Safety Blue doesn't 'fray' as badly as a lot of other ropes I've seen. I use my old lifelines for handlines, and put them through a lot of abuse. They still LOOK good enough to climb on, but I never would after stressing them with the loads I've put on them.

I got a new lanyard made with 'Blue Streak' a couple months ago, and it is starting to fuzz up more than my 6 month old lifeline already.:(