Climbing with a pole saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mass tree guy

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie here and fairly new to the tree industry (3 years)...Started climbing back a few years ago, and was taught a pole saw to set my lines..

I don't like doing it cause its a very dangerous tool to be placed in the tree for the climber and ground men...

Who does it and who doesnt?

Are you all really that good at throwing you lines the the trees?

Get yourself a Bigshot and practice, practice, practice. After you get good, you will be able to set your line from the ground to about 75 or 80 feet. As long as you can isolate your throwline, you can even install a friction (cambium) saver from the ground. Big White Pines and Pin Oaks are the 2 species where I've run into problems due to the "mess" of limbs.

Get yourself a Bigshot and practice, practice, practice. After you get good, you will be able to set your line from the ground to about 75 or 80 feet. As long as you can isolate your throwline, you can even install a friction (cambium) saver from the ground. Big White Pines and Pin Oaks are the 2 species where I've run into problems due to the "mess" of limbs.

ahh got ya my friend..

I do throw a line with a 14 oz bag usually in a center position of the tree...But I have found when I'm pruning the big ones with a good spread i need to set and reset again and again.....

Do people ever throw bags in a tree?

2 climbing ropes, big shot,throw weight, and side kick or equivalent reach device You can get anywhere without too much trouble. Use the first to get in; the other to move around once you're up.

I carry a light throw bag on a keychain biner. Works good for climb line advancement, rigging rope placement, etc. I find it easier than a monkey fist.