Coalition to prevent Wood Chipper Injuries and Fatalities

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jomoco

Tree Freak
Reaction score
Greetings fellow arborists,

A little background on me, I'm a 33 year veteran of the tree industry, most of it as a demolition climber. I gained a very small amount of fame back in 1992 when I invented the leather Cambium Saver and Helen Stone put me on the cover of the June issue of Arbor Age magazine.

As a long time tree veteran, I have a very real respect for how dangerous wood chippers can be, particularly lately, as they are more powerful and more capable of taking very large wood.

In 1995, I filed for and was granted a US patent on a wood chipper safety device that I called a chipper safety gate ( US Patent# 5667152 ). The device was relatively simple, it consisted of a closed loop metal detector mounted in the feed shoot of a chipper, that wood detect when the metal strips encapsulated in the gloves, hard hat and boots of the chipper operator, came into it's field, triggering either the reversal of the feed wheels,
( hydraulicly fed chipper ) or activate a safety barrier to close just in front of the cutting mandrel ( old drum style chippers ).

It seemed to me that this new invention had two very important advantages over the existing safety features at that time. First and most important, it would prevent a disabled or unconscious chipper operator from being dragged into the machine, if he or she was properly equiped. Second, it would prevent foreign metallic objects from being inadvertently fed through the machine and doing damage to the machine or it's operator.

I was very excited and hopeful that my new invention would be well received by the chipper companies and promptly incorporated into their new models.