complete beginner,looking for Stihl chainsaw advice,help!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skipster

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Howdy folks,
Sorry to ask what may be an obvious question to the experts,but I've been thrown in the deep end,and have already bought the wrong saw once,and dont want to do it again, so hope someone can help.
I recently became employed to do forestry and management on 380 acres of eucalypt forest here in Australia.
Work includes falling smaller trees(up to 2 foot diameter) and preparing them for firewood.
Our small local town only has a Stihl dealer so i decided on a Stihl.
He reccomended an MS 250 model,saying that it would be adequate for what I was doing.
Its a nice little saw,and works fine for preparing the thinner tops, but lacks guts for larger limbs,and i really need something bigger,and more "professional"(less homeowner?).
I would like to stay with Stihl, and will keep the 250, so would want a marked step up in power , quality, and longevity.
Could anyone please give me some direction on this?
some independent and expert advice would be really appreciated!
Thanks,
Skip

Stop.....go to Forest Tech. East Gippsland, or anywhere else that does training, get a cross cutting and falling ticket, then come back, most of your questions will be answered by then and you might have avoided injury or worse.

Your STIHL Dealer ..... LOL

As I've said before, no expert but have some experience in this area.

stay with the 025 for as long as you can & learn all you can with it about safe timber cross cutting handling felling sharpening maintenance only then step up to 20 inch bar model 310 and up to 441 price and range, oh with 380 forest acres try not to work alone or best tell some one where you are and will be

Howdy folks,