Compression Release

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Rounder

Rounder

Addicted to ArboristSite
I'm new to this deal, but I've noticed a few posts wondering about blow-by on compression releases. I'm a faller in Montana and the first thing I do with a new saw is plug the compression release with a bolt. They are worthless. They make the saw easier to pull, but you have to pull the thing 90 times to start it. Just my 2 cents, but give it a shot. Often times just pulling the top cover is enough to bump the release and create blow-by

flatpikr

flatpikr

ArboristSite Operative
I just bought my first saw that has a comp release. I believe it is suppose to be pushed in to allow decompression. Why can't I just leave it in the out position and start it that way-- If I never push it in, seems like it will do the same thing as a bolt. Why are they harder to start (more pulls) with the compression released. My 044 doen't have one and I have no problems whatsoever starting it.

Ghillie

Ghillie

Addicted to ArboristSite
If you are pulling 90 times to start it, you need to work on your saw!

There should be no blow by in a properly functioning compression release. If you accidentally bump it while the saw is running, it will automatically seal back up again.

MarylandGuy

MarylandGuy

ArboristSite Operative
I'm new to this deal, but I've noticed a few posts wondering about blow-by on compression releases. I'm a faller in Montana and the first thing I do with a new saw is plug the compression release with a bolt. They are worthless. They make the saw easier to pull, but you have to pull the thing 90 times to start it. Just my 2 cents, but give it a shot. Often times just pulling the top cover is enough to bump the release and create blow-by