Critique this stump.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VW Splitter

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
So a friend bought some property and he’s having it cleared to build a house. He invited me over to cut up some tops for firewood. I am not a professional but what in the world is going on with this stump? Is this some new tree falling cut that I don’t know about? It looks to me like it has that steep leaning back cut which is totally wrong. Also looks like a bore cut in the center. I’m not seeing any hinge wood anywhere.what is going on here?????

Attachments

• CB9E7BBF-6D94-473B-957D-D45BD027C9FF.jpeg
    CB9E7BBF-6D94-473B-957D-D45BD027C9FF.jpeg
    3.7 MB · Views: 24
So a friend bought some property and he’s having it cleared to build a house. He invited me over to cut up some tops for firewood. I am not a professional but what in the world is going on with this stump? Is this some new tree falling cut that I don’t know about? It looks to me like it has that steep leaning back cut which is totally wrong. Also looks like a bore cut in the center. I’m not seeing any hinge wood anywhere.what is going
I usually see that sort of thing from guys who rarely cut wood. Maybe ask westboastfaller, he is a felling genius

my take is that they tried a conventional face cut, but with a bit of a dutchman, then came in the back with a sloping back cut.
hmm tree not leaning, not falling, lets cut some more then.
then bore cut, taking out the hinge from both sides, and finally a bird landed in the top of the tree and it fell over due to the energy imparted from the hot landing of the bird into the canopy :)