Dead tree?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fmueller

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Here is one I thought somebody might get a kick out of. I'm a newbie. My co-worker says she had a neighbor who wanted to know if her geen ash was dead plus needed a pin oak pruned. I said I could come out and take a look. It turned out she decided to go with a "professional tree trimmer". OK no big deal. A couple of days later my co-worker tells me that her neighbor was really mad. It turns out that the professional tree service cut down her ash tree and discovered that the tree was not dead. This poor woman just lost her husband and her husband planted this tree about 30 years ago. Then one of the ground guys left the parking brake off on his truck which was parked on an incline and the truck proceeded to roll down the hill through my co-workers front yard and over their retaining wall in a manner that required a crane to remove it. I could'nt help but to laugh me arss off. She had pictures of the truck with the rear axle pointing towards the sky. Which I had the computer capability to show you the picture.
Wonder what it costs to rent a Coonrod?:dizzy:

In the last year, there is one incident this reminds me of.

Someone who knows us, and knows we contract tree work, hired, or used the services of someone else we know to remove a fairly large tree.

The "someone" was not a pro - just someone nimble that improvises. I had seen "someone" in another friend's yard several years ago, and realized that a problem was due because of the lack of safety gear, ropes and rigging.

Anyway, we got a call on this to bail everyone out of a mess, since "someones" tree removal was hanging on by a thread after cutting it, but with an unsecured tree standing ready to fall who knows which way.