Dealer Evolution

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twistedtree

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
My profession is high-tech. I'm just a weekend worrier with saws and forestry. But in the tech business, this issue of box stores undercutting smaller shops (Dell, CompUSA, Best Buy, etc.), paying more for access to qualified support (your local computer store), etc. is an old story. Some companies have managed their way thru the transition well, others have not. It's a real lesson in Dawin at work.

So, I'm real interested in how this is evolving in the chainsaw industry, including Stihl's approach, and Husky's approach. Both models have been shown to work in other industries, but they are oviously very different.

To try to understand this, I've got a few questions for those of you who are dealers.

1) What percentage of your revenue comes from saw sales, and what comes from parts and service?

2) What percentage of your NET comes from sales versus service and parts?

It's very interesting to me that dealers are resistant to separating saw sales from service. Is it economically driven? Do you make more money selling than servicing? My guess would be that there is just as much margin in service as in sales, if not more, but I don't know.