Does Stihl 009 need bar uide plates?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pioneerguy600

Lost in Space
Staff member
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I was given a fairly nice 009 and since it started and runs nice it got a new chain, now there are no guide plates on the saw currently and it seems to leak a lot of oil out from underneath the bar.
Pioneerguy600

I was given a fairly nice 009 and since it started and runs nice it got a new chain, now there are no guide plates on the saw currently and it seems to leak a lot of oil out from underneath the bar.
Pioneerguy600

Im not a pro, But I do have a 009L. Not real sure what guide plates are either ,but mine leaked alot of oil from that area. I thought it was the pump, but turned out it leaked out of the vent were the cotter pin is, In the middle of the bar. I started setting it on a level surface and the leak disappeared! One thing to, Which you probably know, The 009 oils all the time. That makes for a mess and mine usually leaks out excess thrown oil for a day or so after use, then dries up.:cheers:

Im not a pro, But I do have a 009L. Not real sure what guide plates are either ,but mine leaked alot of oil from that area. I thought it was the pump, but turned out it leaked out of the vent were the cotter pin is, In the middle of the bar. I started setting it on a level surface and the leak disappeared! One thing to, Which you probably know, The 009 oils all the time. That makes for a mess and mine usually leaks out excess thrown oil for a day or so after use, then dries up.:cheers: