Echo cs400 L and H setting after muffler mod

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amhst56

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
just got done with mm and carb mod and wanted to know how many turns u guys had on the l and h screws after u tuned it.

i read about 10 to 15 articles on this site. they are all about doing the mod and no mention of where anyone ended up at with the jets after they were done. only one guy said to start 3 1/2 out and go from there.

before mod im not sure on low, but high was 3 1/2.
after mod, im at 1 1/2 turns on low and 3 on high.

seems odd to me that i would lose 1/2 turn after mod, but i could have set it rich? didnt know how to adjust for 4 stroking until i did the mod though.

and since im new to adjusting to 4 stroking, just want to make sure what im hearing is 4 stroking and not the rev limiter kicking in.

so, anyone that did this mod, please let me and all the future mm people know what u have yours set at so we dont blow up our saws.

just so u know what i did (seems like people have minor differences).
i took out cat, only cut the 2 little cross members for the exhaust exit, and opened up the lower portion of the deflrector.
with doing that at 55 degress, L is 1 1/2 and H is 3 turns.

thanks in advance for the help, its much appreciated!

Tune it very rich...3 1/2 turns out on the H sounds about right. Then lean it out slowly until it cleans up in the cut. Don't tune by ear at WOT...the limited ignition makes it tough.

Same as above, only start out at 4 1/2 turn out on the high just to make sure, at 3 turns out you could very well be bumping into the rev limiter. These saws need to be tuned in the cut. Steve

You should need more fuel on the H with the muffler mod, so if you started at 3.5 stock, try around 1/4 turn more CCW/richer for a start.

thx for all the replys,