first use of my ms390 w/24inch bar

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nightfaller

Reaction score
hello all - newbie here .. i've done alot of reading on these posts about the ms series saws and now that i've tried mine for myself i can offer anyone thinking of an ms390 ..this..

i just ran it through a 30'' diameter fir butt end with the 24 inch bar and had no problem what so ever - it fed great with full skip chain . i tried pushing on it to see when the saw would bog -of course i could get it to - but having said that you should never push a saw anyway - it should self feed ( the pros already know this of course ) i just thought id say it because i've read posts from firewood cutters complaining the ms saws would bog when pressuring the saw ..

i'll admit i was a little nervous having read some of the posts after purchasing the saw - i was previously using a 181 se husqvarna with 28" bar and .404 chain .. it was a 1983 model ... and while it was definately torquier on the low end - i am not dissapointed in the new ms390 like i thought i might be - given the hp difference - the ms390 works more than fair for me

ms 390 /24 inch bar / full skip 3/8 :chainsaw:

hello all - newbie here .. i've done alot of reading on these posts about the ms series saws and now that i've tried mine for myself i can offer anyone thinking of an ms390 ..this..

i just ran it through a 30'' diameter fir butt end with the 24 inch bar and had no problem what so ever - it fed great with full skip chain . i tried pushing on it to see when the saw would bog -of course i could get it to - but having said that you should never push a saw anyway - it should self feed ( the pros already know this of course ) i just thought id say it because i've read posts from firewood cutters complaining the ms saws would bog when pressuring the saw ..