French Prussik

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treeclimber165

Member A.K.A Skwerl
Reaction score
I just bought my first 'Sherrill' adjustable lanyard a couple months ago. The splices are excellent! MUCH better than the 3-strand lanyards I've been buying from the local saw shop for 12 years. For $48 (vs $35), my butt is worth every dime! Better quality snaps, too. Many of the guys here splice their own, I've never tried it.

splices

Sherrills makes a few diff. kinds of set-ups.
One Is the Ultra Tech cord and another is a Tenex.
both have certain a 'feel' to them when climbing. I like the ultra tech and sherrills is doing a great job with the splices. the tenex has a lower melting point it will melt when for example decending. Best to use your own judgment. Ask Sherrills yourself on their dis. board here.Ask everyone you can find and try as many as you kind. What works for me may not work for you
Frans

I got the straight length and used fisherman's knots, I use f.p. exclusively now unless I need to double crotch, then it's a Blakes.

To me the swabish and the distal are just slight improvements on the tautline hitch, but if thats what you like, use any rope you have around. Tennex is easy to splice and cheap, or just cut up any 1/2" rope you have laying around.

If it's performance you are looking for, on the other hand, get some ultra tech. Spliced or unspliced both have their advantages. The spliced is clean but you may not like the tapper as it gets into your hitch. The unspliced will require you tie fishermans knots, which isn't as clean but there is no tapper from the splice to deal with. I assume you are tieing an MT or VT or one of the other 30 or 40 different high performance hitches that are out there.