good used rope wanted

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bass_on_tap

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi, I'm looking for some good strong rope (used) that I can use to pull awkwardly leaning trees in the direction I want. I'm looking for something 1/2 in or bigger in diameter and 75' to 150' in lenght. I need to mention that I am not a professional and have had good luck using the rope method to assist/compensate for my lack of experience in falling by cut and/or wedge methods alone. That is why I'm looking for USED, strong rope. There's no money in falling trees for me, just do it for firewood and when friends need firewood. Sometimes, I even use pulleys and a vehicle with a light foot and lots of finese. That's why it has to be strong. Thanks Dave

I didnt know how I wanted to reply to this thread.
Brian nailed it though, is $100.00 too much?
Sherril sells a 5/8" 3 strand bull rope (150') for 68.00 NEW.

I have 100's of feet of old retired rope but would not ever consider selling it to someone, sentimental value?, i think not.

To quote Don Blair's Rope care commandments--

comandment #5- thou shall know the paths that thy rope has traveled.
commandment # 10-If thy rope offends thee, thou shall cut it with a knife and cast it into the deepest pit.

courtesy-Arborist equipment by Donald Blair page #90.

forget using rope, get a steel cable. much stronger and will outlast a rope. i cut a lot of firewood and we have several cables to pull trees over or to pull brush. they also make a good tow chain:D . i would suggest 3/8" diameter at a minimum with chain hooks on both ends- that way you don't kink the cable and can wrap a chain around the tree where you tie on.

Thats just my opinion, take it for what it's worth

Charles W

consider wire rope