Hello from France , need help on a STIL 029 running problem

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

victor-duarte

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello dear forum members,
i just foud this forum and, from what i've read i think i am in the right place to find valuable persons that will help me.

excuse my bad english, i live in France.

I am not a wood pro , i use my STIHL 029 to cut wood for my chimney, i live in a cold place and i have a lot of trees to chop down for this winter and the next .

ok here is the problem :
the 029 ran fine until recently... the saw began to refuse to fully accelerate and i found it weak cutting oak.
the saw would run fine for 20 minutes, then when really hot, it would just start, idle, but not accelerate, if i apply full throttle, it stalls...

i asked a mech to check the carb, he changed the membrane, i took it back, it would run fine for 20 minutes then, same problem...
i brought it back to the shop and after some days he told me the problem would come from a seal leak (cylinder or spi-seals) and that it would cost me about 300 dollars, damn that's hot...

i disassembled the machine, excepted engine ans saw no leak at the base of the cylinder....

now, i can start it, keep it at full throttle, screaming, but it stalls when i realease the throttle...

what do you think ? can it be a leak ?

thanks in advance.

Victor

Well Victor welcome to AS. Its cool to be conversing with someone from across the world. I think your mechanic may have meant it had a crankshaft seal leaking causing an air leak. When you had it apart did you do a vacuum test? Have you replaced all the rubber lines also, fuel and impulse line. If carb was rebuilt that was part of the possible problems. Im sure there will be someone along to give you better advise.:cheers:

Last edited:
hello rookie, mini