Help a newbie decide on a saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coche1

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm sure you get flooded with this type of question all of the time so I'll apologize in advance. I am a newbie looking to purchase my first chainsaw. I've used saws in the past, both good and bad when helping people fell trees, as well as cutting them up once they're on the ground. Most people I know use stihls and have had great experiences with them, so that's where I am starting to look. I am a basic homeowner with only 1/2 an acre of ground so I don't feel like I need a professional saw. My use will be primarily for taking down small trees and limb cleanup around my property. I am also a member of a hunting camp and I can see that in the future the responsibility of cutting firewood for the camp will begin to fall more onto my shoulders as the older members continue to age and turn their membership over (I am 35 years old and the youngest guy that currently helps on work weekends). So, I want to make sure that I get something capable of handling that duty which is really only 1 or 2 weekends each year as well as my light cleanup around the house.

I've been looking online and have it narrowed to either the 220 or 250 stihl, leaning toward the 250 since it is on sale for $299 right now at my local dealer compared to the 220 for $279. That said, I am not opposed to buying used either, but I really twisted around and confused when I start trying to cross-compare older model stihls with newer ones because their number system doesn't make intuitive sense to me. So, I guess I have a few questions to ask:

1. Does it sound like I'm honing in on the right saw for me needs - something like a new ms250 with 18" bar?
2. Would I be better off buying a similarly-sized professional saw used than a new homeowner model?