Help Me Decide Which Chainsaw.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rpmbcs

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello to all. I am new here. I have been trying to decide which chainsaw I should purchase and after debating for quite a while and reading reviews and going to stores and handling them I still can't decide. I thought I would come here and ask the fine people of this forum their opinion. I know there are always people on the side of each brand but I just wanted to get your opinions to possibly sway me one way or the other. Hopefully I will provide you all the information you need. I have used chainsaws most of my life for ranch work and cutting firewood so I am not a complete novice. I have never used a "good" chainsaw though. Usually just less expensive models.
I will be using the saw for brush and tree clearing. I will also be using it for quite a bit of firewood cutting. The main types of wood I will be cutting will be mesquite and live oak. I would like to try and spend around 500. I am not worried about the saw being too heavy or big. I am a large guy so the weight and extended handling of it will not bother me. Power and ease of operation would be important factors. I live on a ranch at least 1-2 hours from a large city. There are no true dealers of any chainsaws around me so the service factor of a knowledgeable dealer doesn't need to be factored into the decision. I have handled and liked some Husky models...450, 455 auto tune. Some echo...the timber wolf.
Thank you in advance for your knowledge and advice. I woud like to purchase something in the next few days.

Stihl, Husky, Echo, whatever......buy new and don't look back. Stihl dealers are like convenience stores. There seems to be one on every corner.