Hey Stihltech......Hey Anyone!!!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Umm, just what are your concerns about Stihl saws? I'm a service tech at a Stihl dealer, I may be of some help?

Justin

Justin, Rich is a certified chainsaw nut, he's looking for insight on the future. Many here feel the 361 is an improvement on the 036, Rich wants to know if this is a trend. Will there be a 461, 661 etc.?

BTW Welcome to the forum.

.....and how about a 261? The filter alone on my 260 is nearly enough to drive me towards a 346XP.........sight unseen.

I'd like to see stihl start meshing technology from their different products into eachother. For example...

-The FS130 line trimmer/brush cutter uses a 1.7hp 4-mix engine; a 4-cycle engine that runs on conventional mixed gas and produces much better torque yields than a typical 2-cycle. An engine of this power would be perfect for an MS170/MS190T sized saw. The new BR 500 backpack blowers uses a 3hp 4-mix engine, and the BR 550 & 600 uses a 4hp 4-mix engine. An engine of this size saw would be right at home in a MS260 Pro/MS360 Pro respectively. So we'd have a torquier engine that uses less fuel....

-Also, the new TS700 cut-off saw uses a new air filtration system that route's charge air through a manifold that removes dirt particles from the charge air before it ever enters the filter, suposedly extending air filter usage by twice as much. This too would be great on a chainsaw.

-Also, where's the Arctic and Quickstop features on the other saws? I can imagine tem selling more saws if these features wound up on more saws...

Justin

sedanman said:
Justin, Rich is a certified chainsaw nut, he's looking for insight on the future. Many here feel the 361 is an improvement on the 036, Rich wants to know if this is a trend. Will there be a 461, 661 etc.?