Hi Ranger Repair Problems

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbrunner

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello everyone;
I'm a fairly new hydraulic technician. In fact, I'm just about green on repair and troubleshoot - most of my work is on new installations and design.

I'm trying to repair a friends truck (He's the Deacon at Church - uses the truck for a living). He had been blowing the high pressure line that supplies the upper remote control (bucket remote) for moving the boom.

When I started off, it was obvious that the system had not been maintained since it was purchased. I started by changing/cleaning the filters; full hydraulic flush; checket main valve assembly (ended up tearing it down and cleaning all individual pieces due to varnish and "sludge"). Then went up to the bucket and found the supply filter for the remote completely clogged - so I stripped and dipped the remote as well.

Well, here's how the truck stands now; All lower controls work. The pump is no longer cavitating, and sounds a lot happier. The system is running on new/fresh fluid - with good filters. The supply line to the remote control is free and clear of debries, and will match the PSI above in the bucket, that I set below in the supply.

Now, when I cleaned the remote, I found that every supply line in the supply manifold had an orifice in it - so I cleaned each one using small files (normally used to clean blow torch tips). I filed at them so much, that I changed their size. Later realizing this, I purchased (at my cost) new orifices in a .029 size.