Homeowner with Stihl MS391 looking for help.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bajafx4

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I bought a Stihl MS391 with a 25" bar a few years ago; I believe my dealer told me that I was buying the first one he'd ever seen. I'm not a pro... I'm just a homeowner with several acres of personal property, but a friend and I do maintain a ~50 acre wooded lot for our township. We only run our saws about 4-5 times a year, but each of these jobs usually lasts us about 5-10 days, so they're fairly large jobs (at least to us). Between the two of us, we have a Stihl 192, 210, 270, and 391. I'd like to perform some upgrades to our largest saw, the 391. Please help out any way you can, and please don't tell me that the 391 is a pig and to sell it or trade it for a 440 or larger. In hindsight, I actually use the 391 more than any other saw and wish I had purchased the 362 pro saw with slightly more power and 1 pound lighter... but it's too late for that.

Question 1 - Chain:
The 391 came with a green link Super 3 RS3 (part 3624). I replaced the OEM safety chain with a few yellow link Micro 3 RM3 (3662). Contrary to what some say about the 391, it actually pulls this chain really well, but it does bog down if I really lean on it. I've read that a full or half skip works well on this saw with this size bar. Can anyone make a recommendation for which chain to try?

Question 2 - Felling Dogs / Clutch Cover:
I'd like to add dual dogs to this saw. My stock clutch cover is plastic. Can someone give advice on how to add a 2nd felling dog? I've found a metal clutch cover with the 2nd dog for a 390, but it doesn't specifically say 391 and I don't know if they're the same. Does anyone know if any of the larger Stilh saw clutch covers will fit on the 391?

Question 3 - Muffler Mod: