How hard is the MCA Test?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

treetop flyer

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Currently living in Amherst, MA while attending St
I worked as a climber and foreman for a tree company in Massachusetts for 5 yrs before spending the last 2 yrs in the southwest. Now that I am back I want to take the MCA test. How hard is the test? I have the study guide cd... is the stuff in there all I need to know for the exam? Any insights you have would be great.
Thanks Guys

Wicked HAAAHD!

There is a study guide though. www.MassArbor.org

Wouldn't worry about it too much if I were you, Dennis will have you well prepared.................

What he said!

I took it and passed by a hair... :greenchainsaw:

Study Study Study! EVERYTHING on that CD is touched on in the test.

Unlike the ISA test there is a Tree ID, NON multiple choice, LATIN and common names are a must, Pest ID, and Disease ID. The pictures they use are clear, but make sure your prepared. They throw some oddballs at you.

Good Luck!

The hardest test I ever took, and I took more than a few.

Give Dennis some cheers from Ben in New York...he'll understand!

:cheers:

Does this Certification carry the same weight elsewhere? I live in Pa. many here would think it strange that I am a MCA, didnt know if this test could be taken by out of staters & if it carries the same recognition as the ISA CA?

Is MCA a more recognized program than ISA`s, does it carry more clout? regarding MA. of course. I was thinking about ordering the cd study guide, now is this just CD`s or does a booklet/workbook come with it?

thanks in advance!!!

LXT.........

Does this Certification carry the same weight elsewhere? I live in Pa. many here would think it strange that I am a MCA, didnt know if this test could be taken by out of staters & if it carries the same recognition as the ISA CA?