How long do you wait?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bookerdog

The New Champ
Reaction score
I was wondering how dry do you like to get you lumber down to before you use it. Im going to make a couple of end table's out of some black walnut I have. What moister level should the wood reach before attempting to do this. I have mostly made things out of red fir and that is a pretty friendly wood.

I think 12% or less is optimal. You have to keep the wood indoors in a moisture-controlled---i.e. air-conditioned----place, or kiln dry it to get it to that level. I'm no expert at all--I'm just lucky enough to have a good friend who is a skilled cabinetmaker.

wood

The wood is around 15% now and was thinking about moving it indoors to where the end tables would be. The rooms temp does go up and down alot because of a woodstove.

I'm thinking that would be a very bad place for it, especially because of walnut's tendency to check. As temperature swings, relative moisture content shifts. I dont even pretend to understand relative moisture content, however. I just know that the warmer it is, the more moisture the air can hold. So, when it is warm and very dry like houses in the winter, boards lose moisture very very quickly. If the boards are already at 15%, it may not make a big difference. You should get someone else's feedback here as well. I'm a beginner.

How Long