How Useful Is A Timberjack? The Tool

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ePhoenix

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Below is what I'm referencing to:

pv%20275%20timberjack.jpg

I have been using Stihl chainsaws professionally for over 25 years. I've never used one before. I used cant hooks before, but even then, not often. I've always just "man-handled" it. LOL!

When I cut a log it is mainly to cut it into pieces one person can handle somewhat easy so it can be carted off.(residential tree removals) I make my series of cuts about 70% to 95% the way through, then I stop and roll the log over to finish it, which helps considerably in preventing chain from making contact with the ground.

Now I consider myself a very good saw operator. I can cut a log almost all the way through to the opposite side cambium layer.(yeah, braggin' a little. LOL!) I don't like to do this because then others think they can too, then I'm sharpening more than I want to when others are trying to get cute. LOL!

There are times when I'll cut part of the log that is already naturally suspended off the ground until the rest is resting on the ground. I also lift part of the log and just set it on other logs. While it seems easiest and fastest to me to just make my cuts, then roll log over to finish the cuts, I'm thinking this tool must have uses I can utilize.

Do many of you use this tool for your cutting needs? If so, how is it a tool you feel is worth carrying in your tool arsenal? It what situations do you use it most... and are there other uses than what I described?

Thanks,

ePhoenix

I cut the same way you do ( I believe its the Fastest )

I have a cant hook and used it when we have are mill I don't get it out much anymore think a timderjack will just slow you & what about big stuff.

Me Too