Husky 22 Ton Log Splitter Coupler Replacement

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Waystro

Reaction score
image.jpg image.jpg First off this is my first post so still getting used to the site :laugh:
Anyway here's my problem we have a husky 22 ton log splitter that needs the couplers replaced but I can't figure out how to get them off :chainsaw:
Any tips?? Maybe a picture/video guide??

I removed all the set screws it slides up words alittle then stops. I tried prying but didn't want to damaged the pump. The bottom shaft doesn't have a key way like the top does. Who ever replaced them last got the coupler for the bottom that had a key way so it looks like they wedged a piece of metal in there to hold it. I'll get detailed pics later today. This is my first time working on this. Couldn't find anything about replacing these.

I'm going to have him look at it/fix it. If he doesn't fix it then I'll get out there.
On the top side it might be easier to unbolt the engine(looks like 4 bolts)

Bottom has to have a keyway or the cog would just spin on the shaft. Put a gear puller on the pump, previous installer boogered the end of the shaft, likely with a hammer.
Pump has a woodruff key (half moon shaped key)...the couplers are likely getting stuck on the burrs left from the set screws digging into the shaft, as I don't see any peening on the ends of the shafts...
A slide hammer or gear puller will pull them right off, they can be rented for a couple dollars if you don't have one...

Both Couplers are removed bottom is installed. This way just done by the guys that have done it before. I'll be installing the top coupler. So I insert keeper then slide on coupler. Then bolt pump back on alight it sound about right?