Husky 55

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Country_Boy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have an old Husky 55, runs a little eratic at idle, but cuts through big rounds like crazy when the saw is horizontal. when I am limbing small stuff and have the bar pointed down at an angle it dies on me. I use it probably 4-5 times a year, any suggestions on what it might be? Also, can I still get parts, a new carb, or carb rebuilt kit, cylinders etc. Is it worth it? Id rather wait awhile, budget wise, before investing in a new one.

Thanks,

I am new to chain saws.

Jeff

Check the fuel filter

Check the fuel filter in the tank and make sure it isn't stuck in a nook or cranny also make sure the fuel line inside the tank is long enough I had some that were too short. I hope that is your problem.

Thanks that makes sense because I forgot to mention it ran better when the tank was full, although still not quite right.

Also a new filter It could be something different but try those first. If it has lots of hours the crank seals leak and the bearings wear but stick with the simple things first and no panic

There are still a bunch of 55 parts floating around. You shouldn't have a hard time finding whatever you need. The 55 had and still has a strong following. They make a good firewood saw.

You may also want to inspect the fuel line for cracks both inside the tank and outside leating to the carburetor. You should not have any trouble getting parts for your saw.

Or mention Shindaiwa!

Had the same problem you are having and it was a crack in the fuel line inside the tank. Ran it for a year like that making sure to keep the tank topped off, before I figured it out. Some of us are a little slower than others.

If None Of The Above Works Try A New Plug. Sometimes
The Ceramic Tip Inside The Plug Will Slide Forward When
Pointed Down, Then Back When Leval. Bad Plug.