Husqvarna 350

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joeymt33

I bleed YELLOW!
Reaction score
I was given this saw today. It's a husky 350, consumer saw is what it looks like. Anyway, the previous owner ran diesel fuel in it and scored the piston and cylinder. I'm not experienced with these. Does anyone have any recommendations for a rebuild other than a standerd top end kit? Any BB kits for this saw? I'm not going to be putting a lot of time in this saw nor money. I'd just like it to run like stock or slightly better if it can be done easy.

8ypyqy3e.jpg

Get the 353 or 346 top end for it. Also a manifold metal clamp kit if it doesn't already have it.

I have one with an older 346XP top end and love it. It's one of my favorite saws. I didn't do the mod. so not really sure what all needs to be done to do this.

The 350 is a good saw. The free score is even better!

The 346xp cylinder is a closed port, iirc.

I doubt the diesel fuel scored the piston?

The piston was already scored when diesel fuel was put in the tank to cause it to not run.

You can probably save the cylinder and just put a 353 piston in it and a new metal boot clamp.

I doubt the diesel fuel scored the piston?

The piston was already scored when diesel fuel was put in the tank to cause it to not run.

You can probably save the cylinder and just put a 353 piston in it and a new metal boot clamp.

It's too far gone to save the piston or cylinder. The saw is almost new with only several hours on it. I know the guy who gave it to me. The diesel fuel is still in the tank. He just pulled it out of the garage and said it hasn't ran in years since he put the wrong fuel in it right after he got it.

Diesel fuel wouldn't provide the lubrication that the saw needs which is why the piston galled and scored the walls.

I just want to make sure that I don't get a cheap top end kit that won't last.