I may have messed up

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LandKruiser

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So I’ve been using a Stihl MS250 for a few months now and wanted something bigger. I go down to the local ACE Hardware and talk to the sales guy who recommended the MS271 Farm Boss. I buy it and get it home and realize it’s only 1/2 HP than my other saw. Should I return it or keep it (I haven’t even started the saw yet).

45cc v/s 50cc. Might should have jumped up to the 291 if staying with plastic saws in same 271 weight

291 would be 10cc jump 55.5cc.

291 just bigger bore on same case of 271.
Thanks , I’ll see if they have any. Their return policy is that once you put gas or oil in the saw it can’t be returned. They put gas in the saw to test it. I haven’t done anything but put the saw in my shop and it’s been sitting ever since.

Thanks , I’ll see if they have any. Their return policy is that once you put gas or oil in the saw it can’t be returned. They put gas in the saw to test it. I haven’t done anything but put the saw in my shop and it’s been sitting ever since.

14 day return or exchange policy on all stihl gas product. Dealers don’t like it but it is what it is.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

So I’ve been using a Stihl MS250 for a few months now and wanted something bigger. I go down to the local ACE Hardware and talk to the sales guy who recommended the MS271 Farm Boss. I buy it and get it home and realize it’s only 1/2 HP than my other saw. Should I return it or keep it (I haven’t even started the saw yet).
I would suggest and recommend moving to the 261 Pro, there you would see a huge jump in performance, but yet in a small and lighter package than the 291.
Just called them and will be picking up a 391 on Friday. I can return the saw and get my money back as well.