If you are running solo or with one parttime help, how much do you bring home at the end of the day?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Erwin

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've been doing mostly solo for the past 12 years. As you can see from the chart, expectation just keeps growing. I want to learn from you guys out there, so I can keep a healthy expectation. Don't want to be too greedy and priced out off compotation. For a 8-10 hour day with you climbing, your chip truck, chipper, What's your average take home pay? then, what's the most (not very often, but still happens quite often) money you took home and jumping for joy?

First 3 years, I go home very happy with $800 in the pocket.
the next 3 years or so, $1000
then next 3 years or so, $1200
past 3 years, $1500 on average. $2000 the most (maybe once every 5 jobs)

I mostly work all day on Saturday, maybe half a day Friday and occasional few hours week days.

Love to hear from you guys. Thx

So u only do this on the side? One guy I'd be happy enough with 1000, 1200 hell yeah with a helper how much u pay him? Peanuts? Or decent? 1500 with a helper is more then good if all you have is a chipper n truck...

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk

Yes, on the side. I guess if I do this full time, then my I have to lower my expectation a bit since I can't be as sellective as I do now. I don't do any advertisement, only word of mouth from good customer to good customer. I pay my helper 15 bto 20 an hour. Own all my equipments out right (a F350 chip truck, a 55 feet forestry truck, a vermeer 6" chipper and a Bobcat M55 with a stump grinder attachment. no other expenses other than liability insurance which runs around 1200 anually. I never have the need of hauling wood. I have a line of people getting it from me. That alone saves me at least 3 hours a day (loading and hauling it to the dump).