in a splitter...is oil oil?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mga

wandering
Reaction score
when i built my splitter i used DEX III transmission oil. however, because of some loss of oil during cylinder changes, i have to add more. would it be OK to mix regular hydraulic oil with the tranny oil? what could happen? oil is oil...right?

Ford will tell you to use Ford oil in their machines, because it it best matched to the material the seals are made of. In other word, it will give the longest life. All of the auto/truck/equipment manufactures tell you that. I think the two oils being different weights may seperate and may over time cause damage to the pump, but who knows. I am no expert.

I would not recomend mixing the two oils. Different chemical properties, and they may react to each other, or eat the seals out. Either drain it all out and go Hyd. or fill it back up with Dex III.

I never liked Redneck anyway! :cheers:

So I would say that your not going to have a lot of problims mixing the oil, but why?

Get another jug of Dex III , cost what, $10 bucks?

The number #1 reason not to mix would be that mixing a red Fld and tan Fld, your going to have a little cloudness, checking the Fld color is your best indacator of a problim.

If your pump and cylinder are in good working order, they will run just as good with DexIII as they would with HYD Fld, and maybe run a little cleaner and cooler with the DEX III.

when i built my splitter i used DEX III transmission oil. however, because of some loss of oil during cylinder changes, i have to add more. would it be OK to mix regular hydraulic oil with the tranny oil? what could happen? oil is oil...right?

Let me see !! If "oil was oil", then they would only be one type of oil on the market. Right ? Hello !!!

Let me see !! If "oil was oil", then they would only be one type of oil on the market. Right ? Hello !!!