Increasing the power of my splitter

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crowbait

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I've got a splitter with a 9hp Honda engine. I don't know the gpm of the pump. I think it's a 2.5" cylinder or 3".

I'm splitting large cottonwood chunks, about 20" long. When these chunks get up around 20" in diameter, the ram stalls. I have to then bang the chunk off the wedge, and slab it, rather than go down the middle. (standard 2 way wedge).

My engine bogs down a bit...but far from killing. I'm not a mechanical/hydraulic engineer, but isn't there an adjustment I can make to my valve to increase the power, before it stalls? Something called the "detent" ?

I'm thinking that if I'm using my engine to its fullest, then when the ram stalls, my engine should bog down to the verge of killing. When my ram stalls, my engine barely bogs down.

So...can someone tell me about some "nut" I'm to turn on the valve that'll increase the pressure before the bypass kicks in?

I know some of you guys know what I'm talking about here....so give me some wisdom.....

I've got a splitter with a 9hp Honda engine. I don't know the gpm of the pump. I think it's a 2.5" cylinder or 3".

I'm splitting large cottonwood chunks, about 20" long. When these chunks get up around 20" in diameter, the ram stalls. I have to then bang the chunk off the wedge, and slab it, rather than go down the middle. (standard 2 way wedge).

My engine bogs down a bit...but far from killing. I'm not a mechanical/hydraulic engineer, but isn't there an adjustment I can make to my valve to increase the power, before it stalls? Something called the "detent" ?

I'm thinking that if I'm using my engine to its fullest, then when the ram stalls, my engine should bog down to the verge of killing. When my ram stalls, my engine barely bogs down.