Large job (for me) question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lsylvain

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a guy that want me cut and limb about 80 white pines.

All I have to do is cut limb and get them out far enough for the cherry picker.

I figure it will take about 320 man hours to cut, limb and take care of the brush. Plus I'll need to rent some equipment to skid them out.

$900 equipment
$2900 payroll
$300 misc cost

$4100 total cost

Does that sound about right?
What would a job like this usually go for?

I havn't been to the site yet to know of any special circumstances.

Thanks for any help.

I'm not a pro or an expert but everything looks low to me except for the man hour estimate which looks at least double what I might expect it to take.

You need to have your payroll figure coming out at way more than $9.00 an hour.

Is he keeping the logs? What are your plans for the slash? What kinds of equipment do you need to rent to move stuff? Does he want tree length or sawlogs? Is it a clear cut or selective cut? Any road needed? Has the trucker seen the landing to see if it meets his needs?Lots of factors to reflect upon.

I wouldn't give a bid on a job before seeing the trees and the property. You don't want to find out that they are on a 45 degree slope with a stream to cross at the bottom.:rolleyes:

I could be way wrong from my perspective and limited experience, but those are things I would want to consider.

Yes he is keeping the logs for the lumber so I'd need to cut them into saw logs. I'm meeting the guy on wed to check out the sight.

As far as clear or selective that's pretty much up to me, he just wnats enough lumber to build his house. So the non-esential trees can be avoided.