Life in the tree..

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bclure

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
So, I am pretty new to climbing. I took the arbormaster L1 class and did some practicing. I did a take-down on a huge white pine Friday. I climbed it, limbing on the way up. Took the top off and blocked down. Being new, I was pretty cautious. I used my lanyard, spikes and continually advanced my climbing line. I think that I got a little de-hydrated. I did have water sent up, but I don't think that I drank nearly enough. I had too pee most of the day and I think that kept me from drinking enough? I was in the tree for over 7 hours.

How do you guys deal with this?

Brendan:newbie:

Pee off the tree or...

Find a good stopping point and come down and piss. Nothing you can do about mother nature.. Or if oyu feel as if you can hide your junk have a bottle sent up, make sure it is big enough, because pinching it off just doenst cvut the mustard. The duece is the worst in the tree, it inhabits your entire mind, cant even think straight, must be taken care of ASAP...

It's hard to not get dehydrated being in the tree that long. Was that all in one shot, without coming down?

I don't know how big the tree was, or it's placement, but if you could drop everything with no rigging 7 hours seem sort of long to me. Thats not a bad thing, it just means you're being cautious and very deliberate with everything you do in the tree. You'll get faster with experience, and that will help with dehydration, because you won't be in the air for as long.